Raggagårdens Mejeri (dairy) is a historical cultural heritage site where visitors can take an informative guided tour. The old dairy was built in 1929 and has now been carefully restored to preserve and recreate the genuine, old features.
The story behind it
Raggagårdens Mejeri was built in 1929 by dairyman Einar Broberg. The dairy served as a combined farm and wholesale dairy, with a maximum of forty suppliers. The milk came from nearby farms and was transported by horse and cart. The dairy was modern with its hygienic tiled floor and walls. Einar was responsible for the weighing in of the milk, all equipment and sales. His housekeeper was called Linnea and was a trained dairymaid. Her task was to stir the curds and to turn the cheeses in the cheese store.
In summer, when the cows produced more milk, extra maids were employed to work in the dairy. In time, competition from the central dairy group in Götene and surrounding dairies increased. When the Second World War broke out, the number of milk producers fell and too little milk was coming in to the dairy. Raggagårdens Mejeri remained in operation until 1940.
Visitors can join an informative guided tour. The old dairy was built in 1929 and has now been carefully restored to preserve and recreate the genuine, old features. The aim of the project is to achieve a thousand happy visitors, from both individual events and large group guided tours.